The Father Peyton Memorial Centre is a place of respite, prayer and peace located in the village of Attymass, between the beautiful Attymass Lake and the scenic Ox Mountains.
Cong Abbey is a historic site located at Cong, on the borders of counties Galway and Mayo, in Ireland's province of Connacht.
Iconic mountain offers both bracing challenge and outstanding coastal views for believers and unbelievers alike.
The Croagh Patrick Heritage Trail is a 61-kilometre trail with its starting point in the town of Balla to the end point in the village of Murrisk at the base of Mayo’s holy mountain, Croagh Patrick. The trail was originally walked from west to east as a pilgrim route. It is mainly at low level but increases to over 300 metres upon reaching the base of Croagh Patrick.
Killala’s round tower stands tall at over 25 metres in the centre of the town where St. Patrick founded a church around 442 or 443 and appointed St. Muredach as bishop. St. Patrick is said to have baptised 12,000 new converts to Christianity in a single day at a holy well near the town.
Just outside Killala lies the ruins of Moyne Abbey, a Franciscan Friary, which is now a National Monument.
Historical buildings are dotted along Killala bay, including the Dominican Priory 'Rathfran Abbey' dated 1274 AD, Moyne Abbey, Meelick Castle, and Humbert's Rock.
Located on the River Moy, in North Mayo, close to Moyne Abbey and between the towns of Killala and Ballina, Rosserk Friary is possibly the best preserved monastic site in Ireland. It was founded by the Joyce family in the middle of the 15th century for the benefit of the Franciscan Third Order Friars, an order which incorporated laymen into the order as well as female clerics, though Rosserk’s religious community was male only.
Knock is a small picturesque village located in south Mayo, approximately 30 kilometres from Castlebar, and is home to the famous Roman Catholic pilgrimage site internationally known as Knock Shrine.
Founded in the 1400’s by Pope Callistus for the Augustinians, the abbey is perched on the gently lapping shore and its ruins and maintained graveyard make for a contemplative and interesting hour or two.
Mayo’s historical currents meet in intriguing ways in the coastal parish of Burrishoole in Southwest Mayo.Somewhat eclipsed by the latter day and artificially created town of Newport (formerly Newport-Pratt) the suppressed habitation of Burrishoole lives on in the hearts and cultural memories of many in this corner of Mayo.
Ballintubber Abbey has the unique distinction of being in almost continuous use for 800 years, having been founded in 1216. Beside the beautiful stone-built church its ruins and cloisters are good examples of Romanesque architecture. Ballintubber Abbey is the starting point of the ancient pilgrim’s route, known as ‘Tóchar Phádraig’ which passes through Aghagower en route to Croagh Patrick.